This Endless Search for Historical Markers

Saving history one day at a time

Part Three. Soupy Grits, Cold Coffee, Runny Eggs and Hard Biscuits . . .

with 4 comments

. . . But the atmosphere was entertaining. Maybe I arrived late for breakfast but I swear I’ve cooked better breakfast while camping. Without a fire. Still, I was starving and I needed strength after the night I’d had. A night hike can be invigorating but also alarming. Maybe that wasn’t dog fighting, maybe it was only a lot of dogs barking aggressively to the amusement of human voices (at least I think it was human voices). Who knows? I’ve never been to Taliaferro County before.

So breakfast was cold. No matter. The morning had the first hint of nice weather I’ve felt since June, I was in a pretty little town (see Greensboro gallery below) and I had the whole world open in front of me (i.e. five counties in central Georgia). First though, a tip was due. Now what is 20% of $3.89?

A note about Greensboro first: If you are driving through, and I assume that is the usual extent of one’s interaction with Greensboro, try to get out and stretch your legs. Check out the Old Gaol, learn about the town when it was on the Creek Indian frontier (see pics below) and, for goodness sake, let loose some legal tender. The more towns like Greensboro, the better!

From Greensboro on to Madison I had an enjoyable ride along beautiful farm country near Lake Oconee and back through the little hamlet of Buckhead (photos belos). What one could do with these empty buildings if one never needed a return on their investment?

In Madison, a town that I visited often while in graduate school in Athens, I spent a pleasurable few minutes touring avenues filled with the grand homes of ancient (by new world standards) Georgia families and, more often, modern day Yankee transplants and wealthy Atlantans who fled the sprawl of a still-proud, just increasingly unlivable city, at least, anyway, for those who love walking and small town convenience. (Note: I will be in Atlanta in three weeks to test this theory,).

I also visited a beautiful cemetery (see video).

I’m sure I could spend a year only touring historic Georgia Cemeteries and be quite happy. This one in Madison was in an especially beautiful setting with interesting topography and even boasted a kudzu monster

Here’s what I have to say about my trip to Milledgeville: “If I get honked at one more time, I’m gunna lose it.” Seriously, I understand that I drive a silly car. Lay off the horn.

And, “Go see Flannery O’Conner’s Andalusia (Flannery O’Connor – Andalusia Foundation)” It is very special place and I am sure they could use the patronage. During the spring of ’05 I executed a historic resource documentation project on the two story vernacular farm house on the property. It was well nigh to collapsing when I last saw it. I hope things have changed since. Also, I wonder if Flossy, the disgruntled mule, is still there . . .?

Written by 4baldtires

October 24, 2008 at 11:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will, I discovered your travel blog through GHS’s press release. This sounds so exciting! I look forward to reading more! Happy Traveling!

    Traci Clark

    October 29, 2008 at 9:41 am

  2. It seems that I may be duplicating an effort. I am in the process of using Google Earth to record the locations of over 400 Civil War Markers that I have visited, photographed and taken pictures of. The link to the Google Earth map file(http://www.civilwarmarkers.com/Civil%20War/Maps/Georgia%20Civil%20War%20Markers.kmz) is on my about page at the bottom. In addition Ed Jackson, Brad Gilreath and I have documented and recorded locations using Brad’s Mapicurious application. It seems a shame to waste all of the work that the three of us, and others have done with a new initiative.

    It would be nice to have you contact me so that we can coordinate efforts.

    Don Hogan

    October 31, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  3. Hi Will,

    Just read about you in the AJC. Interesting and hope you complete your journey. Will make a nice book when you finish.

    Since my wife and I just moved here (Greensboro area), we drive the side roads a lot and like to read the historical markers. One comment — Why in heck do they place them so that you can’t read them from the car and there is no place to park? Almost got hit several times while parked in the road.

    Good luck and smooth travels.

    Dave Davidson

    November 13, 2008 at 12:29 pm

  4. I have to laugh at the part about Andalusia – living in Milledgeville the past 8 years I still have not been there – but I’ve heard enough about it that it makes me NOT want to go. I would rather tell people to visit GC&SU – the Old Governer’s Masion – The Old Capitol Bldg at GMC – Memory Hill Cemetary – Central State Hospital and the various other little places around town that no one really knows about. Eh – then I would have to suggest that you try to make it to Effingham County and the old town of Ebenezer – along the Savannah River. My roots are buried deep there – 9+ generations :)

    MIchelle Smith

    November 13, 2008 at 12:32 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

